Nearly time to go

I’ll be off tomorrow heading north for my Christmas visit.  Weather looks slightly more bearable for tomorrow, I’m going to be beating my way through rain and mist a bit later today to get the ancient mog to the cattery.

The thought of travelling north reminded me of yet another book I should have read but haven’t; The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan

I must add it to a list.  I’m not sure if the M6 is quite what Flanagan had in mind, though.

niðr ok norðr liggr Helvegr – downward and northwards runs the road to Hel.

Quoted from This interesting discussion on The Lord of the Rings Fanatics Plaza about how different cultures have seen differing directions as good or evil.

If my daughter sees this, I hope she won’t take it personally!

Season’s greetings, everyone!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

