Nine novels down, five to go

If, like me, you haven’t yet read enough of these to be able to assess them, this excellent blog will serve as a suggestions-for-reading list!

Planetary Defense Command

I read nine novels in my search for planetary awards nominees, so I thought I’d give you a rundown of them before I resume my magazine quest.  I’ll also lay out my plans for reading other bloggers’ nominees.

Traditionally-published, from best to worst:

#1) Son of the Black Sword by Larry Correia was my nominee.

#2) The Oncoming Storm by Christopher Nuttall takes the silver medal. Nuttall was a self-published success story, but has now signed with 47 North, Amazon’s publishing arm, which I’ve decided to place in traditional publishing. The book is space opera / military sci-fi, and gets bonus points for calling a planet’s defensive citadel the PDC. There is a sequel: Falcone Strike.

#3) Armada by Ernest Cline was reviewed here.

#4)Heirs of Empire by Evan Currie (another former self-published guy who signed with 47 North) takes last place, mostly due to…

View original post 398 more words

Leave a Reply

