THE DRY WELL 8

Dunes

I suppose the time never comes when the text is 100% perfect. However many times you correct it, onscreen or in printout, there always seems to be some little lurking imperfection of spacing, typing, choice of word, repetition, whatever, that neither you nor your kindly readers manages to spot.

When a writer states, as we mostly do, in our prefaces, ‘Any mistakes and inaccuracies that remain are entirely my own responsibility,’ we mean it very genuinely, for it is true.

But in our hearts is the wish that this time we will have caught everything. We should really write;

‘Any mistakes and inaccuracies that remain will cause me to lay my head down upon my desk and weep when I open the first copy directly to them – as somehow I always seem to do.’

Be gentle with us, readers.

tatt

Leave a Reply

