SELECTED SHADOWS 1

Iranor answered, “What you have said is true, my children.  I have made these beings out of the shadows of the trees and in your likeness.  In each shadow I placed a heart like the hearts of my children, so that they are not as animals are: they love and hate, and they speak.  But neither are they as you are, for they are mortal.  Each one will die, as a flower dies, and this is why they are unhappy, weak, fearful, slow-witted, ignorant and unseeing.  They are poor things, but they are my last gift to you, that you may care for them.  I shall go now, back to the Isle of the West Wind, and you must stay here and guide the people of the world.”

DR Front cover sample-shads

Leave a Reply

