SELECTED SHADOWS 16

‘When first you sailed away,

Alone to roam the sea:

Lonely the waves

on the winter shore

of the quiet island.

 

When you did not come home

I waited by the trees:

Silent the leaves

in the empty grove

drifting down to earth.

 

When they first said that you

Would not come home to me:

Quiet the tears

that streak my face

when I think of you.

 

When I think of you alone

Far away from me:

Sore is my heart

when I hear your name

and you are not near me.

 

Now I cannot speak your name

There is no-one to hear

Silent my grief

as the falling leaves

in the empty land.’

DSCF9282

Leave a Reply

