REVIEW IN VERSE OF BEN BATTEN’S ‘NEWLYN EYE’

Ben Batten E’s frum Newlyn
Way down near Cornwall’s end;
E’ve got a sister down thur
Fer yurrs she’ve bin me friend.

Tho I do be frum Devvin
They’s rare polite to I
Prap’s tis cos at teatime
I’ve cream, not jam, on high.

That Ben’s a proper poet,
As you may now all see
In this yer book E’ve written;
Newlyn be proud of ‘E.

There’s word to make thee chortle,
An’ words to make thee weep,
Speaking of home and heritage,
Of Dear Ones now asleep.

E’ve many poems spoken
As they down Newlyn talks;
But some they be in English too
So posh as furinner’s squawks.

The sea do fill ‘is poems,
And his love for Kernow dear,
And pride for all the history –
In that land tis ever near.

Tis good to read thy book, Ben;
Tis proper ansum, dear
So hands across the Tamar, biy
An’ raise a hearty cheer.

newlyn

3 thoughts on “REVIEW IN VERSE OF BEN BATTEN’S ‘NEWLYN EYE’

  1. For anyone in need of a translation for my versification, I am thoroughly recommending Ben Batten’s poetry collection, ‘Newlyn Eye.’ Some poems are in dialect and some in furrin (sorry, English) – it’s an excellent book.

    Like

Comments are closed.